Components and changing background colors

Hi,

I’ll begin by saying I’m relatively new to Juce.

I have some parent component (currently just a Component, nothing more specific) that contains a TextEditor and a ComboBox.
When hovered, the parent component’s background should change from white to, say, red.

On mouseMove() I set the TextEditor’s background to red, but what about the dead space under the ComboBox? How can I set it to red also?
Which parent components fits my needs in this case? I know Component and Viewport don’t have backgroundColourId…

Note: This parent component should appear multiple times, one on top of the other…

Thanks!

In your parent component overwrite the paint() with something like this:

void ParentComponent::paint(Graphics& g)
{
  g.fillAll(Colours::red);
}

(or use a Colour member variable if you want to switch colours)

Chris

[quote=“ckk”][quote]
but what about the dead space under the ComboBox? How can I set it to red also?
[/quote]
In your parent component overwrite the paint() with something like this:

void ParentComponent::paint(Graphics& g)
{
  g.fillAll(Colours::red);
}

(or use a Colour member variable if you want to switch colours)

Chris[/quote]

Nice, thanks.

But how do I combine it with the hovering?

I mean, calling repaint from mouseMove doesn’t really help me because its not instant…

If I understood correctly your question,

http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/juce/api/classComponent.html#a335d0fe3153768962c91c91f38e6e520

Override mouseEnter and mouseExit in the same way you overrided paint. Just use a global variable to store the current state (e.g. bool isMouseIn) and then call repaint,
which should be now rewritten like

if(isMouseIn) g.fillAll(Colours::red); else g.fillAll(Colours::green);

[quote=“masshacker”]If I understood correctly your question,

http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/juce/api/classComponent.html#a335d0fe3153768962c91c91f38e6e520