Concurrency: circular FIFO (good?)

Hi,

I’m still learning stuff about lock free/atomic programming and trying to wrap my head around it. I tried to implement a circular FIFO in JUCE.

I would like to use this for a network thread that recieves packets, tries to decode them and then pushes them to the realtime threads (audio, midi…). In this use case I only need to use the newest packets (and maybe a few before that), and this as fast as possible (so I don’t need to know each and every packet recieved). One other thing is I need to get this packet as fast as possible to the realtime threads.

Is this the right way to do it or are there more efficient ways to do this? Is my code legit or what could/should be better/safer/quicker.

Thank you!

Hi alfaleader,

you must not simply use the last packeges, because at the point where you append buffers that don’t belong after each other, you create jumps in the signal, which will result in ugly noise and high frequency artefacts. If you really want to allow dropouts of buffers, you must crossfade between the buffers.

Try to use bigger buffers per packet, so you get at least some coherent signal between the jumps. But better buffer a little more.

To your code: what did you want to use as template type, single samples? In this case you have 32 samples, so the lowest frequency you can render is 48000 samples/sec / 32 samples = 1500 Hz. Doesn’t sound very usable.

There is already a fifo class: AbstractFifo
So I would rather use that one. You only need to add the code for filling and reading. Try to use AudioBuffer::copyFrom() as often as possible, that will reduce CPU load compared to iterating.

Good luck

1 Like

Hi,