Creating a TreeViewItem tree which mirrors a ValueTree

I’m trying to implement a TreeView component that mirrors a ValueTree structure. I got it working by following the ValueTreesDemo in the Demo runner. But in this example, I noticed that the entire tree is recalculated every time a TreeViewItem is clicked and every time something changes in the ValueTree (assuming that I am reading refreshSubItems() correctly). This seems a bit inefficient, especially for longer ValueTrees, so I thought that I might be able to improve on it by making the TreeViewItems automatically assemble itself in parallel with the ValueTree.

I’m trying to do this by registering the TreeViewItem as a listener to the ValueTree, but I can’t seem to get it working. I haven’t worked much with Listeners yet, so it’s possible that I’m getting something wrong at a fairly basic level. (In fact I’m new to all of this, but I have at least gotten ValueTrees and TreeViewItems up and running elsewhere).

Note: My TreeView doesn’t need to have drag and drop, text editing, or any other kind of feedback to the ValueTree.

The relevant part of my code is this:

class MapItem : public TreeViewItem,
                  public ValueTree::Listener
  {
   public:
       MapItem(ValueTree)
       {
           mapItemTree.addListener(this);
       }

private:
        ValueTree mapItemTree;

// intention: whenever a new ValueTree child is added, add a corresponding MapItem
        void valueTreeChildAdded (ValueTree& parentTree, ValueTree& newChild) override
        {
           this->addSubItem(new MapItem(newChild), parentTree.indexOf(newChild));
        }
   };

I’ll similarly override other functions from the ValueTree::Listener class:

valueTreePropertyChanged(), valueTreeChildRemoved(), valueTreeChildOrderChanged(), valueTreeParentChanged(), treeChildrenChanged()

but I’m not focusing on them until I can get valueTreeChildAdded() working.