DAW transport to control audio file

Hi everybody, 

I'm new in this community and also in JUCE and C++, a completely newbie here! I've been doing Kontakt instruments for a few years (programming and scripting) and now I want to take another step, so I'm starting with JUCE.

I want to create an audio plugin that the only thing that does is stopping the sound of the track where it's inserted and play an audio file based on the position of the DAW. Maybe with a custom skinned knob to control the volume of the audio file. It will be a joke for the April Fools day, it seems like a good project to start since it's not too difficult and, since it's a one-day joke, it's not transcendent. 
Don't know where to start since there are a lot of information, what classes do I need to check out? Any help will be appreciated. 

​Thanks!

If you start out with creating a standard plugin template, using the introjucer, it shouldn't be too hard. That will generate a working plugin out of the box, primarily consisting of an AudioProcessor and an Editor. Then you'll probably want to load the audiofile or stream it, perhaps using something like an AudioFormatReaderSource together with an ResamplingAudioSource (so your plugin can play at any samplerate).

Then, in your AudioProcessor::process() function (which is where the dsp part goes), you basically ignore the incoming samples - or turn them down a bit and add them to the output buffer, together with the output of your audio source. As for linking these two to the same place in time, use AudioProcessor::getPlayHead() to retrieve a block of info, that accuratively gives you the BPM and position in time, etc.