dsp::IIR::Filter slope and max frequency issue

Hello,

I am quite new in filtering at all, so my questions are probably stupid. I have two issues with Juce dsp::IIR::Filter that I can’t find the solution. So I would like to ask for help.

LOW PASS FILTER SLOPE
My first issue is about low pass filter slope. By slope I mean 6 dB per octave or 12 dB per octave etc.

I use code like that:
dsp::IIR::Filter<float> myFilter;
And later in the code I call:
myFilter.coefficients = dsp::IIR::Coefficients<float>::makeLowPass(sampleRate, freq, paramQ);

But as you can see there is no slope parameter. So is there any way to achieve Low Pass Filter with 6db per octave or any other slopes?

MAX FREQUENCY OF LOW PASS FILTER
My second issue is about highest frequency of filter. In dsp::IIR::Coefficients::makeLowPass there is jassert that doesn’t allow me to set frequency that is higher than 0.5 * sample rate. And this is obvious for me due to Nyquist frequency. But in all plugins EQ which I know there are constant range of frequencies, no matter what sample rate I have chosen in my DAW. For example in Fabfilter Pro-Q3, the max frequency is 25kHz, while users often uses sample rate 44,1kHz or 48kHz which is still less than 2 * 25kHz. So how they solve situation if user set in DAW lower sample rate than 2*maxFilterFreq? Don’t you know how to solve that with Juce dsp::IIR::Filter?

For any help great thanks in advance.

Best Regards

Hey!

Checkout this free course by matcat music https://www.programmingformusicians.com/simpleeq/. I think in part 4 he shows how to setup filter of different orders (different slope).

Hey, great thanks. That course looks gorgeous. Thanks a lot

1 Like

Hmm, once again great thanks for that course. I found the slope subject. Unfortunately in the course there ara only 12, 24, 36 and 48 dB per octave, while I need 6dB. But that course inspired me to more experiments, and finally I found that 6dB per octave slope I can achieve with the: