File opened from Finder

I’m new to Juce and only been using a Mac for a year so I apologise in advance if I’m asking a stupid question…

I’m trying to create a basic MP3 player with Juce using the Quicktime framework. All is going well and Juce has made this extremely easy so far. However I have hit a problem. I want to use this player to be my default mp3 app, only if I open a file in finder with it, the commandline string passed in begins with -psn_ (a process id of some sort I assume??).

My question is, how to I get the file name of the file which has been clicked from this? can I? Same thing happens when using open in terminal, however a command like “appname -file.mp3” in terminal passes the argument in fine.

I hate iTunes, I need help now!!! :cry:

No idea about the psn thing - does it contain the filename as well? Or maybe the number’s a file ID of some kind? I think the Apple docs will be more use than me on this one!

I’ve been trying to read the Apple docs…best I got was possibly some LauncherServices thing and OpenDocument event…I dunno…Does anyone know if anyone has made an app that is opened from clicking a file in finder?? (or even for other OS’s, any clue would be great!)

The psn looks a bit like “-psn_0_620180” (note number completely made up for example purposes).

Love using Juce by the way! :slight_smile:

You want to look at FSMakeFSSpec, FSpMakeFSRef, and LSOpenFSRef. You have to create a unique fileType in FSpCreate so your app knows what type of document it is. After your app initializes, you can then receive the AppleEvent kAEOpen (which the OS sends) and check the event for your document type. If it’s your document, you can open it.