Find next beats sample

Hi guys!
I’m still kinda new to JUCE and C++.
I’m looking for a way to find out if one of the samples in the audio buffer is the start of a beat (quarter note)
What would be the best way to do this?
I tried using an AudioPlayHead but I figure out how to do it.
I also tried using MidiMessage::isQuarterFrame() but somehow I’m too dumb to iterate the midiBuffer.

usually you can calculate the number of samples per beat as:

double samples_per_single_beat = ((60.0 / current_bpm) * current_samplerate);

Then you can use this value to get the rest of the information – if you want samples per 1 bar multiply it by 4 etc.

You can then check a counter in your processing to determine if the sample you’re on is a beat - I believe audio playhead has a current sample in timeline or something so in your for loop you can start a count like:

if ((daw_sample + sample_index) % samples_per_single_beat == 0) { then this sample is on a beat } 
2 Likes

Thanks for your reply.
I had this idea first, but I thought the inaccuracy of the double might cause the values to get inaccurate on longer projects.
If for example, the speed is something like 133 the samples_per_beat will be rounded to 0.45112781954.
My fear was the inaccuracy will add up after a while and cause the start of the beat to slowly drift away.
Do you think that matters in reality?

It’s rounding somewhere! Just the nature of samples — you’ll have to test that : )