Flac buffer contains only header but no audio data

Hello

I’m pretty new with JUCE. I’m trying to convert a small buffer into flac. However, i’m only recieving the flac header and no audio data after the convertion.

fLaC "€€ ¸ð „ ( reference libFLAC 1.3.1 20141125 (no audio data)

Here is the code I’m using

MemoryOutputStream* outputStream = new MemoryOutputStream(m_oAudioBuffer.getNumSamples() * sizeof(float)); // Size in bytes
FlacAudioFormat flacFormat;
std::unique_ptr<AudioFormatWriter> afw(flacFormat.createWriterFor(outputStream, 48000, m_oAudioBuffer.getNumChannels(), 16, {}, 0));
if (!afw->writeFromAudioSampleBuffer(m_oAudioBuffer, 0, m_oAudioBuffer.getNumSamples()))
{
    flacData = MemoryBlock();
    return false;
}
else
{
    flacData = outputStream->getMemoryBlock();
    return true;
}

I have found that if I do a m_oAudioBuffer.setSize(2, BufSize * sizeof(float)), then I do get the audio data in the flac but this makes no sense to me. JUCE should create a flac buffer and copy the audio data from m_oAudioBuffer. Why would I need to increase the size of my original buffer?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Because you are feeding audio samples from an AudioBuffer<float> a.k.a AudioSampleBuffer into an AudioFormatWriter. If the buffer is size zero no audio is added to the flac file.

If you say convert, where is the audio coming from?

And N.B. buffer.setSize() takes the number of samples, not bytes…

Hi Daniel. Thanks for you help.

The audio buffer in question: m_oAudioBuffer which is of type AudioBuffer has a small size, but is not zero. With the code shown, I would expect flacData to have the flac header plus the small amount of audio that I am passing. However, flacData only contains the header. Nothing else.

where is the audio coming from? : The audio is valid and coming from a short recording.

The evidence speaks against that theory unfortunately: