General questions about thread safety

I’m a beginner and have watched quite a few posts and talks regarding thread safety, atomic and etc but still feel confused about this topic. Please bear with me if this is like a silly question. In Timur Doumler’s talk, there is an example:

struct Synthesiser
{
 std::atomic<float> level;
 // GUI thread:
 void levelChanged (float newValue)
 {
 level.store (newValue);
 }
 // real-time thread:
 void audioCallback (float* buffer, int numSamples) noexcept
 {
 const float currentLevel = level.load();
 for (int i = 0; i < numSamples; ++i)
 buffer[i] = currentLevel * getNextAudioSample();
 }
};

This use of atomic<float> makes sense to me. Then I was thinking about the case where there are multiple parameters, and instead of put them one by one in Synthesiser class directly, I want to wrap them in a struct. From the talk, std::atomic<Widget> parameter are likely to insert mutex inside and therefore not lock-free, but I’m not very sure about the understanding. I can think of two ways to write class Parameters:

In the first way, make the parameter fields float and the class object atomic; in the second way, make the parameter atomic and the class object normal one as below

struct Parameters1
{
    float Q {2};
    float frequency {100};
};

struct Parameters2
{
    std::atomic<float> Q {2};
    std::atomic<float> frequency {100};
};

class PluginProcessor
{
public:
 void setParams () // UI thread
 {
    Parameters1 param;
    param.Q = 3.f;
    param.frequency = 200.f;
    params1.store(param);

params2.Q.store(3.f);
    params2.frequency.store(200.f);
 }
void getParams() // Audio thread
 {
    auto p1 = params1.load();
    auto Q1 = p1.Q;
    auto f1 = p1.frequency;

auto Q2 = params2.Q.load();
    auto f2 = params2.frequency.load();
 }
    std::atomic<Parameters1> params1;
    Parameters2 params2;   
};