Generate image THEN repaint if there's time

Hi there,

First of all, I am still learning… so patience is appreciated :slight_smile:

I have an issue where I’m working on a plugin that works great in Mac (M1), but in Windows, the more instances I open (VST3), the slower it makes the DAW until it just simply freezes 100% until I press stop.

There is a large area with a lot of paths being constantly repainted and re-coloured (24hz) and well, when a lot of instances of the VST are showing (3+) it just doesn’t work anymore.

To solve this, I wrote step() where I draw the image before painting it, so that I can simply paint the image in paint(), as below:

void visualizer_circle::step()
{
    juce::Graphics g(ringImage);
     ....draw image....
}

and in paint()

g.drawImage(ringImage, juce::Rectangle<float>(0, 0, getWidth(), getHeight()));

so my question is:

How can I call step() in a parallel thread so that, if there was no time to draw the image, it skips the frame?
Calling it in timerCallback() doesn’t really solve it, and neither in paint()

Or - is there a way to smoothly have Windows draw these paths so that they don’t lag as bad (not using OpenGL)?

Also, I tried the ‘release’ version as I’ve read the ‘debug’ version can be laggy - but same results.

In your step function, why are you creating a juce graphics object? You should never be creating one, you should use the one passed to your editor’s paint function.

that’s not true. it can make a lot of sense to make your own graphics-objects if you want to draw things on juce::Images with the handy functions it provides.