Generate synthesizer output in non-realtime?

Hello,

I hope that this is the correct category for this question, I am relatively new to JUCE programming. A quick summary - I am working on a project focused on synthesizer parameter estimation. So, given a target sound, the parameters to recreate the sound with a selected synth will be returned. To get started with this, I need to generate a number of synth patches for each permutation of the adjustable parameters as training data.

I would like to generate these samples in non-realtime and I would like to output the data to a memory buffer (with an option to save to a file for debugging purposes). Currently, I am working off of the plug-in host example and I have the ability to trigger the midi note using MidiKeyboardState in the GraphEditorPanel file.

What I am having an issue with currently is knowing where to make this ‘interception’ in the plug-in host so that I write the data straight to a memory buffer and avoid calling the soundcard all together. I’ve traced through the code and documentation quite a bit but, I think I am not understanding this completely. In the AudioProcessor class, there is the setNonRealtime boolean, would I set this to true to enable non-realtime? If so, what are the additional steps following this to write the data to memory?

How can I accomplish generating synth samples in non-realtime and write to a memory buffer?

I don’t see a straightforward way to do it with the AudioPluginHost code, since the AudioProcessorGraph in that is wired into the real time audio device callbacks.

AudioProcessor::setNonRealtime is not going help in this case. Whether the plugins process in real time or offline depends on what the host is doing. setNonRealtime(true) is just a hint for the plugin that the host will be offline rendering.