Get AudioStream of a track to convert it to wav file

Hi all,

I am a newbie in JUCE Audio Plugin and i want to know how to simply get the audio stream of the track plugin’s audio to convert it to a wav file later.

First, i loaded an empty JUCE audio plugin. I got a “Hello world” printed in the plugin window. I can modify that but i dont know how to access to audio stream to handle it. (audio recorded on the plugin track)
I saw a function “processBlock” in PluginProcessor and it may be what i’m looking for but i don’t know what this function does.

Can someone help me?

Thank you.

Hi Tomi,

yes, processBlock is the method which does the work in a plugin. You get a buffer with audio data, do something like DSP with the data and return. To understand how this works have a look at the tutorials.

But it is a bad idea what you are up to: the calls to processBlock have to return as fast as possible, because otherwise the audio will sound crackled. And if you want to write into a file the AudioFormatWriter is the class you would use for that. The problem is, that it depends, how your system performs etc. Even though there are helpers to write on a different thread, it is better to use the features of your DAW to write the output of a bus into a file.

Good luck

Hi daniel,

Thank you for your explanations.
I kept on searching and training on Juce, and I checked AudioFormatWriter.
You said “it is better to use the features of your DAW to write the output of a bus into a file”. However, I’d really like to convert the track to a wav file not depending on the DAW I’m using. I’d like to make it work for all of them.

To test, I tried to follow this : Trying to write WAV file
But I have a problem with the function “WriteToAudioWriter” because it’s not defined.
Do you have any ideas ?
Thank you a lot.

Oh wow, that is almost a decade old :wink:
Look into the current docs and choose the best matching command, I’d suggest