Get plugin to get DAW playback status

I am just starting out with plugin programming and I would like to be able to get the playback states of the DAW (record, play, stop) in order to mute the channel during recording and have it open during playback. How can I read the playback state?

Thanks in advance

see getAudioPlayhead() in PluginProcessor and https://docs.juce.com/master/classAudioPlayHead.html

Thank you! However I am still just starting out and cannot quite seem to figure it out. I guess I have to use AudioPlayHead::getCurrentPosition(). It then tells me that in there I can find an isRecording Attribute. How can I assign that to my variable?
My code is:

void PluginTest1AudioProcessor::processBlock (AudioBuffer<float>& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiMessages)
{
 ScopedNoDenormals noDenormals;
 auto totalNumInputChannels  = getTotalNumInputChannels();
 auto totalNumOutputChannels = getTotalNumOutputChannels();

if (recStatus == true)
{
    amplitude = 0;
}
else
{
    amplitude = 1;
}

for (auto i = totalNumInputChannels; i < totalNumOutputChannels; ++i)
    buffer.clear (i, 0, buffer.getNumSamples());

for (int channel = 0; channel < totalNumInputChannels; ++channel)
{
    auto* channelData = buffer.getWritePointer (channel);

for(int sample = 0; sample < buffer.getNumSamples(); ++sample)
    {
        channelData[sample] = buffer.getSample(channel, sample) * amplitude;
    }

}
}

In your processBlock method :

amplitude = 1.0f; // default to full gain here because of all the things that can go wrong in the following code
	auto playhead = getPlayHead(); 
	if (playhead!=nullptr) // playhead may not always exist
	{
		AudioPlayHead::CurrentPositionInfo info;
		if (playhead->getCurrentPosition(info)) // even if playhead exists, it may not return valid position info
		{
			if (info.isRecording) // note that even this probably can't be trusted to work consistently across plugin formats and hosts
			{
				amplitude = 0.0;
			}
		}
	}