Graphics & Child question

Hello all.

I'm rather confused by the way the gui building works

As the tutorial states, I have a child component within a parent instance, I draw a line using the function like so:

void paint (Graphics& g) override
    {
        g.setColour (Colours::yellow);
        g.drawLine (getWidth() * 0.1, getHeight() / 2, getWidth() * 0.9, getHeight() / 2, 1);
    }

Yet the line is drawn according to the resized function within the parent component:

void SectionControls::resized() 
{
    floor.setBounds (50, 50, 200, 10);
}

So, what's the point of drawing the line to a specified size in the first place? If you put in concrete values rather than relative to 'getWidth' and 'getHeight', the line isn't drawn at all, which is odd. Why does the placement and length of the line change, but not the width?

Apologies for the noob questions.

Well I'm rather new to JUCE myself, but I believe I have the answer.

The best way to see the space your components are taking within each other is to add 
    g.setColour (Colours::red);
    g.drawRect (0,0,getWidth(),getHeight(), 2);

to the end of your paint methods, changing the colors if necessary.

The point of drawing the line in the first place is that it is "inside" of your child component. Your child component owns that line, so to speak. The line is drawn relative to where the child component is. That means you can move the child component around, and the line will not stay in the same place but rather will move with the child.

The line will be drawn to concrete values without a problem, try inserting a break point at g.drawLine() and checking the values of getWidth() and getHeight(), and then replacing them with those integer values.

The width of the line isn't changing because it is that last parameter you have set to 2. Set it to something else for a wider/thinner line. See [url=http://learn.juce.com/doc/classGraphics.php#a664643f9fef3c8b37b0620c28ec4bb76]this.[/url]