handleIncomingMidiMessage producing "EXC_BAD_ACCESS" error

Hey all,
So I’m running into a problem instantiating a class that handles midi messages as a midiInputDeviceCallback. I’m writing a command line program, and what I’m finding is that when I instantiate my midi receiving class (let’s call it a “pipe”) from the main function, it operates just fine, but when I instantiate my “pipe” class from within the method of another class I’m getting an “EXC_BAD_ACCESS” error from the “handleIncomingMidiMessage” function.

At first I figured this must be because the instantiated “pipes” were getting deleted at the end of the function that creates them (I’m new to C++ so there’s a lot I’m still getting my head around), so I started using “emplace_back” at their instantiation in order to store them inside a vector member of the class who’s method instantiates it. This seems to prevent them from being destroyed, but I still get the error.

My best guess is that it has something to do with the deviceManager not being able to find the “pipe” that designated itself as the midiInputDeviceCallback? No idea why or how to fix it though.

Can anybody help me work out what’s happening here?

Thank you,
-M

It’s usually impossible for anyone to provide help without seeing code. Please include code examples, surrounded by ‘triple tics’ ```

void yourCodeExampleWillLookLikeThis()
{
}

If you’re building with Xcode, try enabling Address Sanitizer (ASAN). You can do this by clicking on your app’s name in the title bar next to the run/stop buttons, selecting ‘Edit Scheme’, then clicking ‘Diagnostics’, then selecting the ASAN checkbox.

ASAN will give you a detailed report any time a memory-related issue (like an EXC_BAD_ACCESS) occurs, which might help you track down the problem. The diagnostic output will normally be printed to the ‘console’ window inside Xcode.