Hello world with Xcode?

Hey everyone! I am almost a complete newbie in programming. Took some classes in C/C++ programming but never written anything with GUI so now decided to try Juce.

Could anyone write a step by step instructions on how to configure Xcode to work with juce and then how to write a basic application that shows a window with text “Hello World”?

Thanks a lot in advance!

look at:

juce/extras/example projects/example_project_for_Mac/

and see:

http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/juceforum/viewtopic.php?t=1935

Thanks, I just found this topic myself, but it does not give step by step instructions for Xcode.

You can create a Carbon project, remove main.c/main.cpp from your project and add the files posted by haydxn.

This does not work for me (errors at the linking stage). Maybe because I’m on OSX 10.6.2 with XCode 3.2.1.
Some more details: There are still these AppDelegate.* files around, and when viewing the Properties of the Target I see that it has the principal class NSApplication, which I think is a Cocoa class (I’m a newbie and my acting at this stage is based on guesswork). Why is it not working? I don’t have a clue (about XCode).

One question bothers me: How does XCode figure out on which file the whole process should start, i.e. does it always start with main.cpp? What does it pick if there is no main.cpp? I’m quite sure one can define this property somewhere.
Sorry that I haven’t dived more into the XCode documentation and figured this out by myself, but the documentation starts quite early with Cocoa coding, and, well, you know, I would like to learn Juce instead of Cocoa. Or is there some big benefit to first dive into Cocoa?

Anyhow, here is my step by step guide, for other beginners like me

1. Make sure your extras/example projects works. If not, take a look at http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5049

2. Make a copy of this “example projects” folder and open the XCode-Project inside.