Help Getting VST3 to work with Linux (Ubuntu 20.04)

Hello, I am new to Linux and had previously used Juce with windows with no issues. I am trying to build the “basic” audio plugin as a vst3 so that I can make sure it works in a DAW before I go any further.

Following some advice I saw on another thread I downloaded the current 6.05 development branch (zip) which apparently fixes some codeblocks IDE issues and built the Projucer makefile via “make”.

This generated a shared library which I was not expecting, however it will run via ./“Projucer” in the terminal

I have selected VST3 in the plugin format settings.

I am confused about whether the steinberg SDK’s will even work in Linux but have tried to add them to the global paths anyway…however there are no options for VST3 SDK in the global paths! As you can see below.

When I was on Windows it was always there. Whether or not I add the VST3 path to legacy or leave it blank, I get the same codeblocks error shown here, IE: it seems to think I have not selected a plugin format, which I definately have. There are no warnings regarding no VST3 SDK paths etc. Just this.

I am new to Linux and trying to work out what may be wrong but have run out of ideas. I would realy appreciate some help so that I can get on with making plugins and not spend all my time just trying to get up and running.

If you spot anything ive done wrong or can give me some (baby) steps on how to get the “basic” audio plugin built as a vst3 via (hopefully) codeblocks or other method it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Have you tried with a makefile instead of code blocks? Here it just works, no need to set vst3 sdk I guess it’s built in

I tried and yes! that actually worked. So going forward, how do you write plugins? I had always used visual studio in the past and assumed I would repeat the process via codeblocks in Linux but if my plugins will not be built via codeblocks what shall I do? Are you using another IDE?