Help registering events globally

My background is in MFC so forgive my ignorance when it comes to JUCE. I’ve been able to create a great working prototype already picking apart the examples but there is a problem I just cant wrap my head around.

I’ve written a component that I use as a container for other components, it automatically sizes the other components that I include. However one of those subcomponents includes a button that can turn off and on the other components from the container. Since this component is an object in the container it doesn’t have access to the functions in the container in its own class.

I thought ApplicationCommandTarget was the answer to my problems but I just couldn’t figure out invoking them from within. Any help?

Have a look at these classes:

[size=150]vf::componentNotifyParent url=http://vinniefalco.com/VFLib/classcomponent_notify_parent.html[/url]
vf::componentBroadcast url=http://vinniefalco.com/VFLib/classcomponent_broadcast.html[/url][/size]

In my opinion these are superior to the use of application commands, because setting up application commands requires a lot of framework to be added, whereas these classes are extremely lightweight and modular.

Also note that VFLib includes this class, which acts as a resizable container with quite a bit of flexibility:

[size=150]vf::ResizableLayout[/size]

This sounds to me like you’re just struggling with basic programming concepts, rather than looking for some kind of high-level message-passing solution…? If you have a component that needs to call another one, just give it a pointer to that object!

[quote=“TheVinn”]Have a look at these classes:
[size=150]vf::componentNotifyParent url=http://vinniefalco.com/VFLib/classcomponent_notify_parent.html[/url][/size]
[/quote]