Help starting with Traktion Engine

Hi everyone

First post here.
I wonder if anyone could help me in what I’m sure is a very nooby/newbie question:

I downloaded the Traktion Engine package, but don’t know where to place it.

I’ve got JUCE working fine, but when I’m trying to open any Traktion’s examples PIP, ProJucer ask me to locate the .h file, in order to launch Visual Studio.

JUCE is in C:
Traktion Engine in C: too

Thanks in advance
Alex

After you clone traction_engine to a git submodule init and git submodule update to get juce as a submodule.

Then run the script in tests\windows to generate all the example projects.

1 Like

Hi @RolandMR, thanks for the help.

I had in fact downloaded Traktion Engine as a zip file. Ran the bat files in the test folder. Same errors.

Do I have to do the git steps you mentioned to make it work? I don’t really know about git stuff, I am actually a amateur Asm programmer, and some C.

Please ignore the above, I’ve sorted out and am up and running!!!
Thanks once again @RolandMR!

Hi @RolandMR,

Well… I can now compile the examples.
But for some reason RecordingDemo compiles fine but will not execute anymore… I opened it and played around with it and it was fine.

TestRunner, the same thing. Windows tries to load it and aborts.

No interface appears on screen, only the Windows blue round thing, loading the app.

I restarted to pc, rebuilt them to no avail. Other demo apps run fine.

Any suggestions?

What branch are you using?
The TestRunner is a command line app so doesn’t have an interface. It’s not really a demo though, more just a utility tool that we use to run our tests on various build servers etc.

Have you tried running from Visual Studio to see where it gets stuck? It could be an audio device problem or similar.

1 Like

Hi @dave96,

It triggers the debbuger here:

RecordingDemo.exe!tracktion_engine::Edit::Edit(tracktion_engine::Edit::Options options={…}) Line 490 C++ Symbols loaded.

Which is: