How best to read multi-mono wave files into a single audio source

Hello all. I’ve been working with Juce for a few months now, but so far have relied upon the AudioFormatReaderSource to handle standard mono and/or stereo wave files. I am about to dive into a project where I’ll need to load a set of six mono wave files that represent discrete audio channels in a multi-mic recording and play them back from a single transport source as if they were one multi-channel file. Ultimately I will need mixing capability as well, but for now I just want to build the source. Any advice on how best to approach this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S.

I’m guessing there is a better way than creating six separate sources and trying to play them back independently in sync with each other…

Not really, but you might want to consider using AudioFormatReaders directly in your AudioSource subclass instead of going through additional AudioSources.

There should not be anything particular about syncing them. With AudioFormatReaders (and most of the AudioSource classes in JUCE) you just tell them where in the file to get the audio from and they will predictably do it, at least with file formats like WAV.

1 Like

So you’re saying I can inherit from AudioSource and attach multiple AudioFormatReaders to it? That sounds like a good approach. I’ll give it a go. Thanks for the suggestion!

All right. So I made an attempt at a simple extension to my existing audio player, adding an additional five sources for the other mono files in the set. I attached all six positionable sources to a MixerAudioSource and then control them through the transport. I hear what I believe to be all six files playing together, but there is some odd behavior. Specifically, 1) the sources start playing before the play button is triggered, and 2) the GUI becomes very sluggish until the audio files stop playing.