How can I switch impulse response quickly with dsp::Convolution without artifacts, and what does ConvolutionMessageQueue do?

Hi, I’m new to JUCE programming, and I’m having trouble switching HRIRs (head related impulse response) with a rotary slider on the GUI thread.

I’ve implemented a plugin by referring the IR switching part of the convolution demo on the JUCE repo(https://github.com/juce-framework/JUCE/blob/master/examples/DSP/ConvolutionDemo.h), but I can hear the “zipper noise” artifact when I try to quickly rotate the slider, which binds to a variable which keeps track of which IR to load to the dsp::Convolution instance.
It would be very helpful if anyone can help me to figure out how to achieve clear transition among the IRs.

In addition, when I was skimming through the documentation of dsp::Convolution, I found a class called dsp::ConvolutionMessageQueue as a constructor parameter of a dsp::Convolution class.

What does this class exactly represent, and can this class anyhow fix my problem by chance?

I think you would have to fade between multiple instances of convolution. Not the most friendly on the cpu but I don’t think there is another way.

This is because each sample outputs as many samples as are in the the impulse response so that zipper will be happening when they are cut off.

If you fade between them then you can do a smooth crossfade without cutting the samples off.

Thanks for your quick response!

I see. So can I assume that the loadImpulseResponse is not suitable for this situation?
What would be the best practice to implement the crossfading?

Never used the juce convolution myself until now, but I’m quite sure that it performs crossfading on IR updates. But I also experienced that depending on the use-case different crossfade functions might sound better or worse.