How do I get this SliderAttachment set up properly... I'm halfway there...?

I had been using the sliderValueChanged() method to update my parameters, but apparently its better to use ParameterAttachement() or SliderAttachment() so the PluginProcessor can update the parameters, and pick up, for example, any automation of that parameter in track envelopes etc.

I’m fairly new to JUCE, I’ve been looking for example code etc., there’s very little out there on ParameterAttachement especially.

Anyway, here’s what I’ve got so far. How can I implement this properly in PluginProcessor?

In PluginEditor.h

juce::Slider myGain_slider;
juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment myGain_sliderAttachment;

In PluginEditor.cpp

myGain_slider.setTextBoxStyle(juce::Slider::TextBoxBelow, true, 40, 20);
myGain_slider.setRange(0.0f, 1.0f, 0.01f);
myGain_slider.setValue(0.0f);
addAndMakeVisible(myGain_slider);

(constructor):

mypluginnameEditor::mypluginnameEditor (mypluginnameProcessor& p)
    : AudioProcessorEditor (&p), audioProcessor (p),

myGain_sliderAttachment(audioProcessor.apvts, "Gain", myGain_slider)

In PluginProcessor.cpp and PluginProcessor.h
this is where things get cloudy for me. How do I implement a simple apvts ?
Or I’d be open to advice on how to use ParameterAttachment().

This tutorial covers a simple apvts.
https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_audio_processor_value_tree_state.html

If you scroll down to ‘Adding Parameters Programatically’ they outline a more convenient approach using the createParameterLayout() function.

1 Like

Got it working, thanks… I’m working now on how to change those default horizontal sliders to rotary ones and position them. :+1: