How do I push a class instance in to a vector and make it visible

Hi there

Im relatively new to JUCE and c++, so go easy on me!

I have a Spheres class that draws a circle on my plug-ins UI. instead of adding a class instance one at a time, I would like to push multiple instances into a vector and make them visible.

Heres how I’m going about it so far. Hopefully someone will be able to direct me in the right direction.

Im putting my vector in private section of my pluginEditor.h file

std::vector<Spheres> sphereArray;

…and in the pluginAudioProcessorEditor constructor of my pluginEditor.cpp file I’m putting

for (int i = 0; i < 4; i++){
        sphereArray.push_back(new Spheres());
    }

The error I’m getting is “No matching member function for call to 'push_back” can anyone point out where I’m going wrong?

And once these instances are successfully pushed back in to my vector how would I make them all visible?

new Spheres() will return a Spheres* (pointer-to-Spheres) but your vector holds Spheres instances directly.

You could try something like this:

std::vector<std::unique_ptr<Spheres>> sphereArray;

// later...
for (auto i = 0; i < 4; ++i)
{
    sphereArray.push_back (std::make_unique<Spheres>());
    addAndMakeVisible (*sphereArray.back());
}

Hey, thanks for the reply!

hmm,

addAndMakeVisible(sphereArray.back());

gives an error reading “No matching member function for call to 'addAndMakeVisible”

that’s because addAndMakeVisible expects the underlying object. use *sphereArray.back()

edit: