How to access the processorEditor from the process block

I just did the midi demo, so I’m new to this side of juce. I was thinking it would be nice to have a display of the results of the midi processing there in the plugin editor. Surprisingly, I found no 64-bit vst midi monitor vst anywhere online…

But it’s not clear how to send data to the editor from the process block method. I did a search here, and it seems that for very good reasons the processor should know nothing about the editor. So what is the approved way to approach something like this? Seemed easy, but maybe not.

You can add a method to your processor class…

YourProcessorEditor* YourAudioProcessor::getEditor() const noexcept
{
    return dynamic_cast<YourProcessorEditor*>(getActiveEditor());
}

Make sure to check the returned pointer isn’t nullptr before using it… also don’t hold onto the returned pointer and expect it to always be valid.

Rail

Also make sure you don’t do direct calls from the audio thread to anything that uses the GUI objects. (IIRC even a simple repaint() isn’t allowed.)

Rail - this looks pretty terrifying to me :slight_smile: There’s no guarantee it’s not being deleted while you use it … ?

They way I’d do this depends on how much information you want to send, but when we have lots of info in process block we want to get to the editor (e.g. a stream of audio to display on a graph) we use a FIFO. (See AbstractFIFO) and the processor puts stuff in the queue not worrying about whether the editor is there or not, the editor subscribes to the FIFO and pulls stuff from it.

You could set up a FIFO containing a copy of the midi data.

If it’s just a value, like a current meter reading, maybe a std::atomic that the editor reads on a timer.

There ought to be a whole book on this topic somewhere in a thread on this forum, but I can’t find it right now!!