How to analyze your cracked plug-in, for forensic purposes?

What tools would I need, to see what source code corresponds to the places where the original binary has been patched in order to crack it?

I am in possession of the original binary and of the cracked one (Windows only), and an hex diff already showed the few places where it has been tampered with.

I’m not an expert about analyzing an executable after it has been generated by Visual Studio, so… now what?

3 Likes

I’d love to hear the answer to this! I’ve never done any cracking, would be interested to hear about the tools + tricks they’ve used.

2 Likes

With dumpbin.exe you should be able to get an assembly listing of both versions, and then you can compare them. If you still have the original pdb symbols of your binary, it should be easy to find which function have been tampered.

Thank you for your quick answer!

Ah, so I’d need to generate the PDB file also for the Release builds, and keep the one corresponding to each released version. That’s good to know.

With that, how would I proceed with loading the released exectuable together with its original PDB, and to find the tampered location (sorry for the noob question)

Until now, in case of these events I’ve just kept around the assembly listing files generated by Visual Studio, sort of one listing file for each object file that’s compiled. I guess I cannot do much with those at the moment?

1 Like

I believe that, if you have plugin.dll and plugin.pdb in the same directory:

dumpbin /disasm plugin.dll > plugin.asm

will give you the assembly listing with symbols of your original release binary. Then copy plugin-cracked.dll to plugin.dll and repeat the process, you should have the listing for the cracked binary, also with symbols. And then compare them with any text diff tool. You can probably do that also in visual studio but to be honest I don’t know how to use it.

6 Likes