How to apply gain correctly to the sampler?

Hello, everyone! As a Juce beginner I would like to ask you about one thing I’ve been trying to figure out for quite a bit of time, but unfortunately without any proper result.

Based on the tutorials about building Sampler on the YouTube (TheAudioProgrammer channel), I decided to add a gain to the sampler for myself.
Here are the parameter characteristics:
“GAIN”, “Gain”, juce::NormalisableRange { -40.0f, 0.2f, 0.1f }, 0.1f, “dB”.

in case 1: when I just get the gain parameter from AudioProcessorValueTreeState and apply it straightly to the given buffer in PluginProcessor.cpp in processBlock function, I get nothing in effect, here’s code:

void SamplerAudioProcessor::processBlock (juce::AudioBuffer& buffer, juce::MidiBuffer& midiMessages)
{

buffer.applyGain(juce::Decibels::decibelsToGain(getCurrentGain())); //without ramp, just to make it
//simple
mSampler.renderNextBlock(buffer, midiMessages, 0, buffer.getNumSamples());
}

in case 2: when I try to apply gain by accessing the buffer getAudioData() of the uploaded sound file to the sampler, as a result I get terrible sound explosion (apparently the sounds gets madly loud) and afterwards I don’t hear the sound at all:

void SamplerAudioProcessor::updateGain()
{
auto gain = mAPVTS.getRawParameterValue(“GAIN”)->load();
for (int i = 0; i < mSampler.getNumSounds(); ++i)
{
if (auto sound = dynamic_castjuce::SamplerSound*(mSampler.getSound(i).get()))
{
auto samplerBuffer = sound->getAudioData();
samplerBuffer->applyGain(juce::Decibels::decibelsToGain(gain));
}
}
}
plus the call of this function in processBlock…

I guess that in case 2 my mistake is that I edit the data irrevocably, thus I don’t fully understand why the code from case 1 doesn’t work… But I might be totally off, due to probable lack of understanding.

Mainly I don’t know what is is the volume set by default once I upload the file to the sampler itself…