How to create my own parameter class?

audio
audiovaluetreestate

Hey everybody,
I just started learning Juce and C++ in order to develop a drum sampler VST, like Addictive Drums and so on.

Now, i know that is a very hard goal to reach, but i really wanna learn how to do this stuff (I mean VST programming in general) and, one little problem at a time, I’m getting better at it.
At the moment I’m stuck with parameters management, I’ve seen a lot of topics talking about this, and at first time I was going to implement the AudioValueTreeState like tutorials and many others said, and it worked, also it was quiet simple for a beginner like me.

Then I discovered that the ValueTree has some problems and it’s better for now not to use it.
So someone suggested me to make a separate file with my own class for managing parameters, and told me that I had to inherit from AudioProcessorParameterWithID.

And here I got stuck. I just can’t figure out how to do this without falling in compile errors or memory leaks, tutorials/forums use many different type of solutions to the problem, but their environment is always different from mine. Someone uses the ValueTree, others use AudioParameter objects and so on, I tried to merge all the hints and infos I could, but I get an unhandled exception from Visual Studio when I call the addParameter() in my processor.

Is there someone who can tell me the proper way to do this please?

I’m using 2 separate files called PluginParameters(.h / .cpp) and of course the 4 default PluginProcessor and PluginEditor files.
In my processor I’m using a pointer to my custom class like this:

class DrumSamplerAudioProcessor  : public AudioProcessor
{
public:
    PluginParameters* parameters;
};

Then in PluginProcessor’s constructor:

addParameter(parameters->pKickLevelParam);

The PluginParameters class looks like this:

PluginParameter.h

#pragma once

#include "../JuceLibraryCode/JuceHeader.h"
#include "PluginProcessor.h"