How to fix JUCE Slider Updating Filter Delay?

Hello, I’m new to JUCE and I was testing filters on some input. I’m using the Slider component to adjust the frequency, but I realized the filter updates extremely slowly. When I suddenly change the frequency slider, it takes about half a second for me to actually hear the filter change. Am I doing something wrong?

This is my processBlock function:

void processBlock (AudioBuffer<float>& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiMessages)
{
	filter.setCoefficients(IIRCoefficients::makeHighPass(getSampleRate(), std::max(0.000000001,frequencyPercentage*0.5f*getSampleRate())));
    auto totalNumOutputChannels = getTotalNumOutputChannels();
	for (int channel = 0; channel < totalNumOutputChannels; ++channel)
	{
		auto* outData = buffer.getWritePointer(channel);
		for (int sample = 0; sample < buffer.getNumSamples(); ++sample)
		{
			outData[sample] = random.nextFloat() - 1;
		}
		filter.processSamples(outData, buffer.getNumSamples());
	}

This is my sliderValueChanged function:

void sliderValueChanged(Slider* slider)
{
	processor.frequencyPercentage = frequencySlider.getValue();
}

How long is the processing buffer? (buffer.getNumSamples()) What operating system/device are you trying it on?

I’m on windows 10, and getNumSamples() returns 2560

That’s already a relatively long buffer and an experienced user/musician would easily notice it, but it wouldn’t cause a latency of “half a second” by itself. Maybe there’s additional latency coming from your sound hardware or its driver…? What hardware/device are you using to listen to the sound? (Or are you running the code as a plugin inside some host application? If yes, which host?)

Never mind, I don’t know how but somehow it’s fixed. But now I’m running into another problem, my highpass filter is producing a horrible Buzz when there’s any input audio and I can’t see why.

processBlock (AudioBuffer<float>& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiMessages)
{