Image is not draw in the "paint" method. (Noob)

Hi, i’m very new on JUCE (in fact, this is my first time), and not an c++ expert, i just clicked the “GUI” template on JUCE and began testing some options.
I saw people create a ImageComponent to add image, but i’m not sure that i want to create components for all images i want to add, so i tried to draw the image directly by the “paint” function, the code is like this:

void MainComponent::paint (juce::Graphics& g)
{
g.setColour(Colours::white);
g.fillAll(Colours::white);
File Flower(“C:/TEST2.bmp”);
Image FlowerIMG = ImageCache::getFromFile(Flower);
//Image FlowerIMG = ImageFileFormat::loadFrom(Flower);
g.setFont(Font(16.0f));
Colour Pink(255, 0, 127);
g.setColour(Pink);
g.drawText(“Hello World!”, getLocalBounds(), Justification::centred, true);
g.setOpacity(1.0f);
g.drawImageAt(FlowerIMG, 10, 10, 0);
}

As you can see, i’m just figuring things out in the “hello world” template.
The code compiles successfully, but the screen don’t draws my beautiful flower.
Should i use ImageComponent?
Maybe this code makes no sense, as i said, i’m kinda new in c++…

It would appear to be that Juce doesn’t support .bmp images. Try a .png or .jpg file instead.

1 Like

Thank you!
It was exactly that! Damn, i was struggling with such a small issue! :frowning: I don’t know why i have not tested other formats!
helloflower

1 Like

Actually, this was kind of news to me too. BMP is such a simple format that I would have expected Juce to support it. (I did some test code that tried loading a .bmp image and it failed…)

1 Like

Yeah, perhaps the Juce team thought it smelled too much of Microsoft! :smiley:
PNG is great though, and it’s not a lossy compression, so it’ll not make any difference to quality.

1 Like

Hahaha!
:grin:
Indeed, i’ll be saving the images in PNG for now on. I’m using CImg togheter with JUCE. :stuck_out_tongue:

Your art program should be able to save the PNGs and Projucer can load them in as a resource.