Is it possible to group multiple ValueTree.setProperty into a single action to be undoable

I’m new to both ValueTree’s and the UndoMangager, but thanks to David Rowland’s ADC17 talk, I am making great progress with ValueTree’s. But as I start to add in the UndoManger, I ran into the case where an operation updates several of the ValueTree properties as part of it’s work, and they need to be undone together. Is there a standard way to handle this?

Every property that’s been updated since last undoManager.beginTransaction() should be undone when you do undoManager.undo(). Guess that’s the standard way.

I assume you mean beginNewTransaction. So, when performing the group of property updates, do I call beginNewTransaction before, after, or both? And since the code has a bunch of places where individual calls to setProperty are made, do I need to be calling beginNewTransaction at any other time? If I don’t will they all just be undone at once?

Before, no and yes. All updates since last beginnewtransaction will be undone when you issue undo. The whole purpose of beginNewtransaction is to group valutree updates such as property changes, child additions and -removals into undo/redo packets i.e transactions…

Got it! So, generally speaking, it’s common to call it prior to setProperty calls? ie. a user moves a clip on a track, code call beginNewTransaction and then call setProperty when setting the new position?

An easy trick is to have a timer call it every couple of seconds, as long as the user isn’t in the middle of an operation e.g. dragging the mouse or something. (It’s OK to call it multiple times in succession, the calls will be ignored if nothing has changed in between)

Yeaps. And if you also make use of CachedValues it might look something like this

class AudioTrack
	: public Component
	, public ValueTree::Listener
{

public:
	AudioTrack()
		: Component("AudioClip")
	{
		//listen to changes in valuetree, esp clipPosition
		vt.addListener(this);