JUCE 6 DelayLine processor

Hello, I am playing around with the new DSP modules from JUCE 6. I am trying to set the maxDelayTime using the explicit constructor of the DelayLine class, but with no avail. I don’t understand how to instantiate a templated explicit constructor.

Here are the constructors for the DelayLine

template <typename SampleType, typename InterpolationType = DelayLineInterpolationTypes::Linear>
class DelayLine
{
public:

/** Default constructor. */
    DelayLine();

/** Constructor. */
    explicit DelayLine (int maximumDelayInSamples);

I am doing this in a processorChain. I’ve never used an explicit constructor before, so the concept is a bit foggy. Couple that with instantiation within a processor chain as well as a templated type and I’m totally confused.

I am committed to JUCE 6 and I know I could accomplish this without the new DelayLine class, so I am really only interested in figuring this particular situation out.

Any help would be appreciated!

explicit just means you can’t use the constructor for implicit conversions. For example:

void someFunction (const DelayLine<float>& delay) ;
// ...
int a = 500;
someFunction(a); // error
someFunction(500); // error
someFunction(DelayLine<float>(a)); // ok
someFunction(DelayLine<float>(500)); // ok
DelayLine<float> delay = 500; // error
DelayLine<float> delay{ 500 }; // ok
someFunction(delay); // ok
1 Like

This is not very pretty but it does compile :

dsp::ProcessorChain<dsp::DelayLine<float>,dsp::Panner<float>> chain;
// to reset the maximum delay time, 
// assign a new instance of the DelayLine at the chain position 0
chain.get<0>() = dsp::DelayLine<float>(10 * 44100);
1 Like

I can’t tell you how much each example you gave helped. Thank you!

Thank you, great to hear from one of the royalty of JUCE

Hey guys, sorry for dragging up an old thread, but I’m having issues with this myself. I’ve only just started looking into the JUCE DSP classes, so be gentle!