Juce_string.cpp assertion failure while trying to create an AudioFormatReader

I’m a beginner programmer. I’m trying to build a program to read all the metadata from my sound libraries. I’ve been getting a runtime error constantly for some specific files. I stripped down my code and isolated the error to the line where im creating an AudioFormatReader. This code runs well for most of the files till it hits some of them and just crashes. I have no idea why its behaving this way

juce::File searchPath("/Volumes/LACIE SHARE/Sound Library");
juce::AudioFormatManager formatManager;
formatManager.registerBasicFormats();
//juce::DirectoryIterator iter (searchPath,true,"*.wav");
juce::SortedSet<juce::String> bwavMetaKeys;
juce::Time startTime = juce::Time::getCurrentTime();
int countFiles = 0;
//auto testreader = formatManager.createReaderFor(testPath);
for(juce::DirectoryEntry iter : juce::RangedDirectoryIterator(searchPath,true, "*.wav")) {
    std::cout << "before" << std::endl;
    std::cout << iter.getFile().getFileName() << std::endl;
    std::cout << "after" << std::endl;
    auto rawreader = formatManager.createReaderFor(iter.getFile());
    std::unique_ptr<juce::AudioFormatReader> reader(rawreader);
    //        if(reader->metadataValues["bwav description"].isNotEmpty())
    //        std::cout << reader->metadataValues["bwav description"] << std::endl;

// if(reader) {
// for (juce::String key : reader->metadataValues.getAllKeys()) {
// //DBG ("Key: " + key + " value: " + reader->metadataValues.getValue (key, “unknown”));
// bwavMetaKeys.add(key);
// }
// }
// delete rawreader;
}

Doesn’t a std::unique_ptr require using std::make_unique to create it safely? Haven’t used (or researched) those much, but every instance I have does so.