Keystrokes / Keyboard Input in Cubase 7 64bit

Hi. I'm not a developer but rather a consumer who has recently purchased two plugins from two different companies that are built with the Juce Framework. Both plugins have a bug where typing in values does not work in Cubase 7. A quick search of this forum shows this issue being brought up repeatedly from at least as far back as 8 years ago. I would really like to see this fixed, and certainly won't make the mistake of purchasing another plugin built with Juce until it is.

Regards,

Greg Houston

Judging by the fact that I've not heard anything about this recently, I assumed it was all working ok. Perhaps your plugins were built with an older version of juce?

And please understand this before you make any sweeping judgements: For someone to correctly identify the cause of a bug as being the same thing that was discussed in some old forum thread, it'd require deep knowledge of both juce and the plugin itself. This stuff is compex, even for those of us who do it professionally. I couldn't look at someone else's plugin and say for sure what's causing a bug in it - I'd need to discuss it with the plugin developer before being able to draw any conclusions. So as a non-developer, probably the best use of your time/energy would be to chase the devs whose plugins have the problem, and get them to discuss any issues with me directly.

When editing a Label object's text in a plugin UI, there are several keys captured by the host (tested on Cubase and Reaper) that are not received by the TextEdit component. For example space and enter are two very important keys that apparently can not be entered into a editable Label. I don't recall having this issue on any host with VSTGUI, so i believe JUCE handles key input differently. I have to admit that not all hosts intercept these keys. For example, JUCE plugin works fine on VstHost.

To summarise what i've tested so far:

Space is intercepted on Reaper both Win and OS X.