Little help with FFT viewer

Hi,

I'm new to Juce and I'm trying to figure out how it works. I created a new Audio application with Introjucer. I would like to perform af FFT on the input audio and display it. I have been looking for some examples but I didn't find anything. My main doubts are how to include the necessary libraries and how to manage the getNextAudioBlock() function. Can you help me?

Thank you.

There's actually a FFT example included with JUCE. If you're getting JUCE from the GitHub repository (which you should), you'll find it in the examples folder. I haven't really had any time to really look at it, but I'm sure it'll help you. The demo/example apps are probably one of the best ways to learn JUCE.

Here's where the example is in the GitHub repository:

https://github.com/julianstorer/JUCE/tree/master/examples/SimpleFFTExample

Hi, thank you very much for your answer. I didn't get JUCE from GitHub so I didn't see that example. It clarifies my doubts a lot, but when I try to build it I got some errors:

error C2146: syntax error : missing ';' before identifier 'forwardFFT'
error C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int
error C2614: 'SpectrogramComponent' : illegal member initialization: 'forwardFFT' is not a base or member
error C2065: 'forwardFFT' : undeclared identifier
error C2228: left of '.performFrequencyOnlyForwardTransform' must have class/struct/union
          type is 'unknown-type'
error C3861: 'jmap': identifier not found

The involved lines are the constructor:

public:
    SpectrogramComponent()
        : forwardFFT (fftOrder, false),
          spectrogramImage (Image::RGB, 512, 512, true),
          fifoIndex (0),
          nextFFTBlockReady (false)
    {
        setOpaque (true);
        setAudioChannels (2, 0);  // we want a couple of input channels but no outputs
        startTimerHz (60);
        setSize (700, 500);
    }

and the declaration of the forwardFFT variable:

private: