Low Latency on Windows with IAudioClient3

Windows has updated WASAPI to enable low-latency shared audio streams which would be very useful when building JUCE standalone apps! Pete Brown mentioned this in his talk at ADC 2018 talk, but it doesn’t seem like this capability has been added to JUCE yet. There’s a Github issue on the subject, but it doesn’t seem like the changes have been made yet.

I’m happy to go make these changes and get this to happen, but I’m fairly new to COM programming. It looks like in the JUCE WASAPI connector, some funky macros are used to call Windows COM objects using hard-coded strings for class identifiers. Does anyone know how they got the strings which correspond to CLSIDs of Windows classes? If I can find the CLSID for the IAudioClient3 interface, then it could be fairly straightforward to swap this in, change a couple functions and try out low latency shared mode!

Thanks for your help!

2 Likes

Well, bear in mind that that would only work on Windows 10 machines as indicated by MSDN:

Your COM code would need to be backwards compatible down to Windows Vista, and maybe Windows XP (it’s unofficially dropped from JUCE I think).

2 Likes

My guess would be it would be easy enough to keep the IAudioClient code as a fallback, and slot in IAudioClient3 if the OS is new enough. I agree it’s not quite as clean as the current setup, but forcing users to have ASIO drivers installed to get a worthwhile experience feels ridiculous when modern native apps have far better performance.

1 Like

Yeah, I think it’s just a matter of finding out which interface is available and storing the COM pointers properly. By the looks of the methods new to IAudioClient3, there doesn’t seem to be any crazy logic needed to get those lower latencies - it appears to be a drop-in replacement.

+1 to that!