Mac Noobie - Problems with OSX version of VST

I’ve been using Pc’s for ages, and I’m very new to Mac’s and xcode etc.

I think I built the demo vst correctly, but I can’t get it to start under any of the freeware VST Hosts (Kil2.2, Audacity or HostX) :frowning:

I may well be doing something wrong.

After building the vst, I copy the .vst to /Library/Audio/plug-ins/vst
Is this right?

I haven’t mastered debugging VST’s yet under xcode, (is it like under Windows, you start the Host App under the debugger to debug the pluggin?)

All I can tell so far is from the hosts error log, I can see:

vst:JuceVST.vst:plug-in initialization error

Does that mean anything to anyone?

I haven’t started hunting through the classes yet to see if there was anything obvious, because I didn’t think I was doing it right (i.e. didn’t want to distrust Juce!)

Yep.

You can specify the host application for debugging in Xcode IDE. Please find the “Executables” In the files and groups view at the left side of the window. Right-click (or CTRL+click) on the “Executable”, then choose “New Custom Executable…” and the dialog will appear.

Masa

[quote=“hayashi”]…application for debugging in Xcode IDE. Please find the “Executables” In the files and groups view at the left side of the window. Right-click (or CTRL+click) on the “Executable”, then choose “New Custom Executable…” and the dialog will appear.
[/quote]
Thanks, I’ll try that

[quote=“hayashi”]… and the dialog will appear.
[/quote]

I did that, the executable is a copy of a Freeware VST Host called Kil 2.2.osx, and is on my desktop.

When I run the Build and go (debug build) a log page (I now realise this is the gdb console) opens with the current time and date, but nothing else seems to happen - it doesn’t start the executable. I can type stuff into the console, but nothing happens… Time to Google, I think!

I played around with some of the other settings (start executable after starting debugger) but still nothing… :frowning: