MIDI timing

I just started learning JUCE today and it’s been really excellent so far.

I’m trying to write a conversion tool that converts Notes to CCs. I’m starting out simple by reading in a MIDI file and trying to write out the same MIDI file. If I can do that correctly, I think I can figure out the conversion. I’m able to read in the file and write a new file, but the timing of the written file isn’t correct. How can I get the timing of the written file to match the tempo, measures, etc of the original? The output ideally should be exactly the same as the input.

Is there a way to determine setTicksPerQuarterNote based on the MIDI file being read in? Do I need to write meta data for the tempo, beats, etc? Is there any example or any info on this?

Thanks!

This is my main code for reading/writing:

void MainComponent::readFromFile(File const& file)
{
    MidiFile midiFile; 
    FileInputStream inputStream(file);
    midiFile.readFrom(inputStream);

const int tickPQN = 960; //this isn't correct? How do I determine this?    
    writeMidi.setTicksPerQuarterNote(tickPQN);

for(int trackIndex = 0; trackIndex < midiFile.getNumTracks(); trackIndex++)
    {
        const MidiMessageSequence * seqRead = midiFile.getTrack(trackIndex);

for(int eventIndex = 0; eventIndex < seqRead->getNumEvents(); eventIndex++)
        {
			MidiMessageSequence::MidiEventHolder* event = seqRead->getEventPointer(eventIndex);

MidiMessageSequence::MidiEventHolder* offEvent = event->noteOffObject;

writeSeq.addEvent(MidiMessage::noteOn(1, event->message.getNoteNumber(), event->message.getVelocity()), event->message.getTimeStamp());
        }	
    }

writeMidi.addTrack(writeSeq);

File writeFile("new_filename.mid"));
    FileOutputStream outputStream(writeFile);
    writeMidi.writeTo(outputStream);
}

Hi.

The MIDI file can have 2 types of format: bars/beats (ticks) or SMPTE absolute times.

You should use MidiFile::getTimeFormat() :