MIDIoutput

Hello everybody, I am new to Juce so there a lot of things I have to discover :slight_smile:
I would like to now which are the essentials steps to create a button that sends out a MIDI note to an external MIDI device. I am missing something somehow on the creation of the MIDIoutput and on the actual sending of the note.
thanks.
d

Post your code, then we can see where your problem might be.

What I don’t understand is how I create an Instance of the MidiOutput class,
Or what I have to do once the MidiMessage:: noteOn is ready.

From the docs:

To create one of these, use the static getAvailableDevices() method to find out what outputs are available, and then use the openDevice() method to try to open one.

Calling getAvailableDevices gets you an Array of MidiDeviceInfo. So you need to pick one of those and use its deviceIdentifier to create a MIDIOutput instance, as a std::unique_ptr, e.g. to get the first available device:

auto availableOutputDevices = MidiOutput::getAvailableDevices();
if (availableOutputDevices.size() > 0) 
{
    auto midiOutput = MidiOutput::openDevice (availableOutputDevices[0].deviceIdentifier);
}

A more convoluted example at https://github.com/juce-framework/JUCE/blob/02bbe31c0d2fb59ed32fb725b56ad25536c7ed75/examples/Audio/MidiDemo.h#L418

thanks Adam, I was missing that part.
then another related question, is there a way to do something like this:
sendNote.onClick = [this] {myMidiOutput->sendMessageNow(MidiMessage::noteOn (3, 36, (uint8) 127));};

which now does not work because ‘myMidiOutput’ cannot be implicitly captured in a lambda

The MIDI output object should be a member variable in your class and then capturing “this” would allow using it. Do you have the MIDI output as a local variable now…?

yes now, it is Local. I will try again to declare it in the class definition. thanks for the advice.

Hey,