Mp3 player & Oscilloscope ?!

Hi guys,

I am trying to build an oscilloscope that responds for the current song that is playing in the mp3 player that i have built.

It's too difficult for me to build an oscilloscope from the scratch because I'm a beginner but I found that dRowAudio has already built one before.

The problem is that I don't know if this is possible. I wrote the codes of dRowAudio oscilloscope in my mp3 player but didn't know how to connect the oscilloscope with the player.

Here you have the codes from dRowAudio :

https://github.com/drowaudio/drowaudio/blob/master/dRowAudio/gui/dRowAudio_AudioOscilloscope.h

https://github.com/drowaudio/drowaudio/blob/master/dRowAudio/gui/dRowAudio_AudioOscilloscope.cpp

If someone knows how to do this I'd appreciate the help a lot.

Thanks.

Looking at the code in there:

/** Processes a number of samples displaying them on the scope.
    The resolution will depend on how zoomed in you are @see setHorizontalZoom.
     */
void processBlock (const float* inputChannelData,
                   int numSamples);

So perhaps try to call AudioOscilloscope::processBlock() from your app's audio callback, and pass in the pointer to the audio channel you want to display!

Thanks Timur,

I will try it right now.

I tried something but didn't work.

Let me explain more to you so you can understand my situation.

I have implemented this mp3 player using these classes :

AudioDeviceManager,
AudioFormatManager,
ScopedPointer<AudioFormatReaderSource>,
AudioTransportSource,
AudioSourcePlayer.

The mp3 player works just fine.

Now, how am I supposed to call AudioOscilloscope::processBlock() ?

I tried like this : deviceManager.addAudioCallback(audioOscilloscope.processBlock(?????)); 

Maybe I'm doing it wrong because I want this oscilloscope to react to the music that is being played and maybe this oscilloscope isn't for my case.

Thank's for the help.

Hope you can tell me what's the problem with this. 

Hi there,