Multi-threading in a plugin

My synth plugin is a little on the CPU heavy side and I’ve been wondering if multithreading could help. And considering I have no experience with multithreading in a plugin, I have some questions.

In my synth, there are 2 main CPU-heavy tasks: generating 64 complex waveforms, and then processing the output. I was thinking about having one thread create the 64 waveforms for the size of the audio buffer and put them into a temporary buffer using an AbstractFIFO, and then have the output processing done by the main audio thread.

So, there would be a PrepWaveforms thread, and the main audio thread would expect that the waveforms have already been created, process the output and put it in the audio buffers.

Is that a reasonable way to go about this?

If so, how would I go about making sure the two threads stay in sync? Meaning, how do I guarantee that the PrepWaveforms thread has completed when I’m in the main audio thread?

Am I thinking about this the right way?

PS - It would be great if there was a JUCE multi-threading demo.

2 Likes

If you think like this, doing multiple threads makes no sense. You have one thread preparing the wave forms while the other is waiting for the waveforms. When the waveforms are ready, thread two starts to mix or modulate or doing whatever to combine these. You don’t win time but you lose time for waiting.

Second thought, usually you have a project with many plugins. here it’s the task of the host to optimize that as many plugins can run in parallel.

But you might win some speed, if your synthesizer is the only job running, e.g. as standalone live instrument.

You have jobs which could run in parallel, which is the 64 wave generations. You could run up to 64 threads each one delivering one waveform and having the audio thread combining these waveforms.