Multiple IIRFilters

Complete Juce/C++ noob here, so apologies in advance for asking what I am sure must be very basic question.

I am trying to wrap my head around IIRFilters in Juce in order to build a basic 3 band EQ. So far I managed to get a single filter working, but I am seeking advise about how to proceed with adding additional bands/filters.

Do I need to create 3 instances of IIRFilter, one for each band? If so, I assume that each filter is applied to the audio buffer in series. Does the order in which the filters are applied matter?

[quote=“jnicol, post:1, topic:20331”]
Do I need to create 3 instances of IIRFilter, one for each band?[/quote]Yes[quote=“jnicol, post:1, topic:20331”]If so, I assume that each filter is applied to the audio buffer in series.[/quote]Yes[quote=“jnicol, post:1, topic:20331”]Does the order in which the filters are applied matter?
[/quote]No (barring quantization errors of math) - can be proved through associativity of convolution

Thanks so much for the reply. It is good to know I was on the right track.

I am sure I will have more beginner questions coming shortly!

Bring 'em on, I’m sure people here can help. If you ever want to explore or dive deeper in to filter technicalities, modulate the filter’s center frequencies or want improved precision for low frequencies, you can check the zero-delay state variable filters out as designed here:

They also work out of the box, and are stable for any kind of modulation with less artifacts, contrary to the biquad designs the IIRFilter objects are based upon.

Thanks for the suggestion! Those technical papers go straight over my head, but perhaps they will make more sense to me once I get to grips with the basics of DSP.

A free and well written introduction to the basics can be found here: http://www.dspguide.com/pdfbook.htm