Multithreaded architecture advice

Hey! Remember me? I’m still enjoying the JUCE, though on Linux now a days. (Transitioning development to Linux turns out to be a piece of cake, much thanks to JUCE. GCC error messages could be less cryptic though)

I’m writing an app that will render audio in real time, much like a modest virtual studio.
So I have a gui component tree in the regular Juce style, and I’m thinking I should put the audio rendering in a thread of it’s own and up it’s priority a little. So far so good, but how do I best send data back and forth between the threads?

My current thought is to make a singleton data manager that collects the stuff from the gui and have the audio thread lock it once per buffer cycle or so, and copy the data into local vars for use in the DSP processes.

But I’ve never done anything like this before so I’d like to hear what others make of this before I start banging out the code.

Cheers

you better not write audio in another thread than that and try to synchronize with it. just divide your classes in 2 parts. the core and the gui. the core work in your high priority audio thread and renders the audio. the gui just manipulates the core properties to change the audio in realtime (no need to lock, just only interpolation). if the core class should speak with the gui notifying of state changes or such, just send asyncronous messages queues that the gui will pick up (so no need of locking too).

remember that audio thread should be runned with higher priority and could be with realtime priority too. So any kind of locking should be minimized if not avoided at all.

cheers

So, I can dispense with a lockable middle man altogether?

To make sure I get what you are saying, can I do something like this?

class AudioProcess : in-a-thread-of-its-own { 

private:
   float volumeVariable;

public: 
   setVolume(float whatever) {
      volumeVariable = whatever;
   }
}

//*******
class myGui {

void mySliderMoved(){