N00b here: Why is there so much code in the Constructor?

When I look through the samples (which have an odd format when copied through the clipboard) I see that way too much things are done in the constructors!

This clearly is not a good idea. But where could I put my code in else? In MFC I have several methods (e.g. OnInitDialog, etc.) where I can get active. Is there something comparable in Juce?
Of course such a message switch-case monster as with Win32 isn’t a good solution as well. But with a decent Event system this shouldn’t be a problem at all.

Thanx, pat :twisted:

Don’t take this the wrong way, but if you’re such a noob then what gives you the right to critique Jules’ code? I write embedded software for a living (for about the last, oh, 15 years), and I think JUCE is extremely well designed and coded. Very logically laid out, and quite impressive technically.

But by no means is it sacrosanct or anything, I’m just saying that newbies should be humble and appreciative, and learn all they can.

if there’s stuff that needs doing to an object on initialisation then what difference does it make if it gets called in the constructor or if it’s divided into functions that are also called at construction?

one thing to bear in mind is that the demo application is made up of demo components and are examples of the code that would achieve simple examples. any calls to ‘setBounds()’ and the like would be better off in the component’s resize() function. you can put your code in other places if you wish, but there’s nothing ‘clearly bad’ about how the demos are coded.

i’m not sure what your problem with it is but i think you’re a little paranoid! i’m sure you’re free to code to your own standards and designs regardless of how the demos are made. JUCE is an incredibly well coded and thought out library.

Is there some golden rule about not doing too much in the constructor? I think there is but I’m no guru.