No GUI elements in my plugin when compiled for x64 VST

Hi all:

I am porting my code to x64 VST tonight (just got Windows 7 machine + VS2010). For some reason, none of the UI elements are showing up in my GUI window. The background image does, but nothing else shows up. I can adjust the controls from the host’s parameter view, and the Win32 version compiles on the same machine with no problem, so I have no idea why compiling for x64 would make a difference.

To test things, I took my custom LookAndFeel, embedded font, and control classes, and ported them over to the JuceDemoPlugin. Which now looks like my look and feel, even compiled as x64. So the issue doesn’t seem to be with my LookAndFeel classes or custom controls.

Any idea what might be going on here? I’m new to x64 development, so I am unsure what type of weirdness might be going on here.

Thanks,

Sean Costello

OK, some more details:

I removed my background graphic, and now my editor window is a blank (dark blue) screen. The weird part is, my UI elements are still there, just invisible. If I move the mouse to where the sliders should be, and click ‘n’ drag, I can change the parameters (the parameter view of the host confirms this). So, what kind of change in x64 would cause such strange behavior?

The only thing I can think of where I’ve seen this before is when you try to turn on a combination of optimisation flags and the MS compiler completely screws up the floating point behaviour of the graphics code, making all the values go out of range… Try turning off some of the more aggressive optimisation options and see if that helps.

I can confirm this for VS2005 on win7 64bit. As soon as I turn on /O2 for my x64 release build, the GUI stayed empty, displaying only the background colour. I did not yet find a workaround except disabling optimization with /Od.

Really? I make pretty heavy use of the optimization flags in my plugin, to bring the CPU down. It is one of the selling points of it, to be honest.