Open a new window?

Hello

i’m pretty new to all this and have been getting along pretty well with the tutorials and demo projects. I have however run in to a problem and I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction?

Basically I want to create a preferences window for an audio application. I have looked at the demo projects like widgets and windows demo but i cant work out how to create a show a simple empty box, opened with a button, that i can then fill with buttons and combo boxes.

could someone point me to where i might look for a step by step on this?

You create a Component and call

• setBounds() or setSize()
  • addToDesktop()
  • setVisible()

Depending on what decorations you want, there are various subclasses like

Hi daniel

Thanks very much for your reply. You have been very helpful in the past.

Do I add this in the same way as any other component in the main component? And add attributes in the main component constructor?

The Component can be owned by your MainComponent, but doesn’t have to. You also don’t need addAndMakeVisible, since that would add it as sub component.

The Component itself doesn’t take attributes, but the ResizableWindow does.
There is an overload that takes the window flags, like maximiseButton etc…

Have a look at the reference of addToDesktop(), probably best to use at least TopLevelWindow

Hi Daniel

im sorry im afraid im really showing my ignorance. i attempted to add a component and then do as you said :

• setBounds() or setSize()
  • addToDesktop()
  • setVisible()

in the main component constructor and i ended up with only one window.

im sure all this comes from a simple failure of understanding on my part. where should i be putting the code for this?

You add a member to your MainWindow class and a method to open:

class MainWindow : public Component
{
public:
    MainWindow()
    {
        addAndMakeVisible (openWindow);
        openWindow.onClick = [&]
        {
            if (window)