OpenGlContext and Threads

Hello All,

In order to test my conception, I have basic application with a main component. This component is an OpenGLRenderer. It contains a context :

[code]MainComponent::MainComponent ()
{
openGLContext.setComponentPaintingEnabled (true);
openGLContext.attachTo(*this);
openGLContext.setSwapInterval(1);

setSize (600, 300);

}[/code]

A thread is running and I’d like updating the openglcontext of the maincomponent from this thread.

[code]void MyOwnThread::run ()
{
int i = 0;
while(!threadShouldExit())
{
i++;
displayComponent.openGLContext.makeActive(); ////////---->always fails
if(i == 0)
{
::OpenGLHelpers::clear(Colours::aqua);

}
    else if(i == 1)
    {
        ::OpenGLHelpers::clear(Colours::red);

}
    else if(i == 2)
    {
        ::OpenGLHelpers::clear(Colours::pink);

i = -1;
    }
    displayComponent.openGLContext.triggerRepaint();
    sleep(1000);
}

}[/code]

Where am i wrong? (I am a beginner in opengl applications…)

Thanks

Technically it’s possible to use your own thread, but it won’t give you any advantages that I can think of, and would be very difficult to set up correctly. Certainly wouldn’t do it that way myself.

Just use the thread that juce provides - have a look at way the GL demo works in the juce demo.

Hi,

I’m a bit hijacking this thread, but I have a similar issue. I can’t use the thread Juce provides because I need to control its creations and its members, and most importantly its behaviour.
I can workaround the creation & members issue (except that I can’t assert if it’s the same thread each time that’s calling renderOGL, so it might break if you happen you change it).
However I don’t want the thread to call me at regular interval, I want to be able to make it wait for a specific amount of time (I don’t want 60fps in my application).

So, if I send you a patch that allows a subclass of the OGLRenderer to use its own thread, would you integrate it ?