Oversampling in a synthesizer

I'm still relatively new to C++ and JUCE, just coming back to working on my 4-op FM synth after several months off from it. I'm trying to implement oversampling so I can reduce aliasing; this is a new idea to me and my proof-of-concept implementation is very naive, but I notice no difference no matter how high I set the sampling rate. Any advice here?

void Wx100AudioProcessor::prepareToPlay (double sampleRate, int samplesPerBlock)
{
    synth.setCurrentPlaybackSampleRate(sampleRate * oversampling);
    downsamplingFilter.setCoefficients(IIRCoefficients::makeLowPass(sampleRate * oversampling, 22000.0));
}

void Wx100AudioProcessor::processBlock (AudioSampleBuffer& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiMessages)
{
    buffer.clear();
    int numSamples = buffer.getNumSamples();
    AudioSampleBuffer upsampledBuffer(1, numSamples * oversampling);
    upsampledBuffer.clear();
    keyboardState.processNextMidiBuffer(midiMessages, 0, numSamples, true);
    synth.renderNextBlock(upsampledBuffer, midiMessages, 0, numSamples * oversampling);
    downsamplingFilter.processSamples(upsampledBuffer.getWritePointer(0), numSamples * oversampling);
    for (int i = 0; i < numSamples; ++i)
        buffer.addSample(0, i, upsampledBuffer.getSample(0, i * oversampling));
    buffer.copyFrom(1, 0, buffer, 0, 0, numSamples);
}

In researching this, I came across the following quote from jules:

don't forget that juce has got a ResamplingAudioSource... if you used the Synthesiser base class you could hook one of those up in a Voice object and use that.

This sounds like the way to go, but I don't understand how to do it... All of the synthesizer stuff and plugin stuff appears to assume that you are using an AudioProcessor, not an AudioSource, and it's not clear to me how to connect one to the other. What am I missing?

Thanks!