Parallel IIR Filters

I’m getting started with audio plugin development and looking to create a basic guitar amp plugin. Right now I’m trying to work out how to construct the tone stack portion. This would have to involve several filters working in parallel and then being summed together for the resultant output from the tone stack. But I’m not sure how this would be accomplished code-wise. My best guess is parallel ProcessorChains, but what’s the best way to do this? What kind of syntax is required to add together different parallel processes? I’m pretty new to C++ in general so apologies for the n00b question but, alas, we’ve all gotta start somewhere.

And I’ve worked through some of the JUCE tutorials and have gotten a good sense of how the basic mechanics work, but their tutorials really don’t go far enough for what I’m looking to do.

For a beginner, I would not recommend starting with ProcessorChains, as that adds another level of abstraction to what you’re trying to do. Instead, you can just have your processor own the 3 filter objects, and then step through your processBlock buffer one sample at a time, calculating the output of IIRFilter::processSingleSampleRaw for each filter object. Then the answer to:

…is just a simple +, to sum the 3 filter outputs into a single output value, which you write back to the processBlock buffer at the same sample position that you read the input sample from.

A couple caveats:

1. If you’re running 3 filters in parallel, you might want to divide that sum by 3, to scale your output signal back down.