Plugin Channel Configurations question Juce 4.2.2

I am new to a large legacy commercial project that was originally built in 2013 using Juce 2.1.2 and is now being updated to use Juce 4.2.2. I am an experienced SW developer, but new to Juce.

The project builds a virtual instrument plugin that has audio in and out, MIDI in, and is a host for third-party virtual instrument VST plugins. It uses a fairly complex AudioProcessorGraph which includes mixing of the plugins. I want to configure my plugin as 2 in/ 2 out, the nodes in the processor graph each have specific numbers of in/out buses, and the hosted VST plugins have specific numbers of in/out busses.

The problem I am seeing is that AudioProcessor::setPreferredBusArrangement() does not distinguish between external buses (my plugin’s buses), internal buses (nodes in the graph), and buses for hosted plugins.

FYI I have read many related discussions on this forum, specifically guidelines for overriding setPreferredBusArrangement, but the rules say I can only reject a configuration; accepting a configuration requires going through the base-class method.

In our currently shipping version, which uses Juce 2.1.2, we used the default Projucer “Plugin Channel Configuration” settings {2,2},{1,1}, and we have many calls to AudioProcessor::setPlayConfigDetails() for the internal processor nodes that adjusted the number of input and output buses for each node.

In Juce 4.2.2 this technique does not seem to work, most visibly due to code that limits the inputs and outputs of the internal processors to JucePlugin_MaxNumInputChannels and JucePlugin_MaxNumOutputChannels and checks against the list of channel configurations. With the default Plugin Channel Configuration settings, Projucer generates a value for JucePlugin_MaxNumOutputChannels (and Input) of 2, yet my processor nodes in the graph as well as the hosted plugins frequently need more ins or outs.