Plugin demo, thread safety

Hello guys,

I am looking at the juce audio plugin demo and got a bit confused about the
way parameters are sent from the GUI to the processor in a seemingly hazardous way.

As I understand it, the AudioProcessorEditor holds a pointer to the PluginAudioProcessor, so
when a slider is moved it calls the setParameterNotifyingHost() method in the PluginAudioProcessor. But hey, that isn’t thread safe is it? What happens if something in the audio callback uses the parameters while they are being changed?

I’m new to threads so some advice from the pros would be great :slight_smile:
Cheers!

Well, it’s very much up to you to pass the data in whatever way is appropriate for your app…

If you’ve just got a bunch of floats or ints that the audio code is referring to, then it may be enough to make them volatile, and just let your audio code pick up the changes as they happen. Or if it’s important that a whole bank of values is updated atomically, you might put them in a structure and use an atomic pointer to swap between banks without blocking. It’s best to avoid CriticalSections in the audio thread if possible, and use atomics to get around it, but really it all depends on how your data needs to behave.

Hi Jules, thank you for helping me!! :smiley:

The atomic pointer thing sounds very interesting, please tell me more! How can the atomic pointer used for swaping between parameter banks? I don’t really get it :oops: .

The Atomic class has changed since Juce v1.51, right?

If I have two sets of parameters, one being used by the audio callback (pAudio) and one being changed by the GUI (pGUI), I can swap pointers when the new parameters from the GUI controls have been stored to pGUI. Fine. But what if the swap occurs in the middle of the audio callback? Then a combination of old and new parameters might be used, leading to instability and various evils.